Coldplay – The good, the bad and the in between

Tuesday, May 6, 2014



Coldplay members from left to right: drummer Will Champion, bassist Guy Berryman, lead guitar
Johnny Buckland, and lead singer Chris Martin pose together for a photograph.Photo Courtesy of

By Stephanie Kadingo

On March 3, 2014, Coldplay announced that their new album, Ghost Stories, would be hitting stores on May 19. If you are a Coldplay fan, like me, this news was music to your ears.

In honor of the release of Ghost Stories, I have comprised a list of all the Coldplay albums, ranking them in my own opinion, from their least to best work. This was not an easy thing to do, as I think everything that Coldplay has produced has been nothing short of fabulous.

6. Prospekt’s March, AKA, “The Coldplay album that not many people know about.” It isn’t that I didn’t like this album. It is that I did not connect with it emotionally the way I did with the other albums.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with “Prospekt’s March,” it was released in 2008, shortly after “Viva la Vida,” and it features a couple of songs that did not make it onto that album. There are also a couple of remixes, such as “Lovers in Japan” and “Lost” featuring Jay-Z. In all honesty, I didn’t notice a difference between the “Lovers in Japan” version that is on “Prospekt’s March”, against the one on “Viva La Vida.”

It is a good album, but if you only have fifteen bucks and you want to buy a Coldplay album, I would say it’s okay to go ahead and skip this one.

5. X&Y – It isn’t that this is a bad album, but rather a slightly stereotypical one. To be completely honest, I do find myself skipping over quite a few songs in order to get to the really great ones.

The thing with “X&Y” is that there are as many not-so great songs as there are amazing songs. Out of all of their albums, this is the one that felt the most like they needed to put out an album and this is what they came up with. With that said, I wouldn’t necessarily tell you to skip it like I did with “Prospekt’s March.”

Stand out songs on this album are “Fix you”, “The Hardest Part” and “Swallowed by the Sea.”

4. Mylo Xyloto – Chris Martin once said that when writing the songs for Mylo Xyloto, Coldplay wanted to go in a different direction. They wanted to do something different than they had done before. I do think they succeeded in doing

Coldplay’s album “Ghost Stories” is set to be
released on May 19, 2014. 

Photo Courtesy of

so but I also think that there are a couple of songs on here that are simply just okay, such as “Up with the Birds” and “Major Minus.”

However, they make up for that with songs that seem to stick with you from the very beginning, such as “Paradise”, “Hurts Like Heaven” and “Every Teardrop is a  Waterfall.”

3. Viva La Vida – Here is what I love about “Viva,” it is different from the “typical” Coldplay album, where nearly everything is on the lighter side. A lot of the songs, such as “Violet Hill” and “Cemeteries in London” have a little bit of a dark vibe to them. They are reminiscent of “A Rush of Blood to the Head” – the song, not the album.

Then, there are songs like “Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love” and “Strawberry Swing” that are more upbeat and keep the album from drifting off into some unknown territory

The most notable songs on this album are “Viva La Vida” and “Lost”, however, I do think that “Cemeteries in London” and “42” are worth paying attention to.where we don’t recognize this work as belonging to Coldplay.

2. A Rush of Blood to the Head – This album is, in my opinion, what really launched Coldplay onto the music scene. It wasn’t quite as mild as “Parachutes” was, and a good mixture of mellow, upbeat and deep. Essentially, any mood or feeling you could possibly want to feel, you will find in this album.

Songs everyone knows from this album are “The Scientist” and “Clocks.” Songs that are definitely worth mentioning are “Warning Sign”, “In My Place” and “A Rush of Blood to the Head.”

1. Parachutes – No matter what Coldplay puts out in the future, this will always be my favorite Coldplay album. For most Coldplay fans, like myself, you were with them from the very beginning, and this was their first album. From the moment I heard Chris Martin’s voice, I was hooked.

Out of all of their albums, “Parachutes” is probably the most laid-back. Everything is pretty mellow, with the exception of “Yellow”, which booms out almost unexpectedly in the middle.

Everytime that I hear this album, I have a total fangirl moment and I revert back to the very first time I heard the guitar intro, followed by the smash of the drums as “Yellow” blasted through my speakers.

My personal favorites on this album are “Shiver”, “Sparks” and “Everything’s Not Lost.”

“Ghost Stories” is currently available for pre-order on iTunes, where you will get automatic access to singles “Magic” and “Midnight.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s